Brigid Larmour

Brigid is Artistic Director and Chief Executive of Watford Palace Theatre.

Productions directed for the Palace include: Coming Up by Neil D’Souza; Jefferson’s Garden by Timberlake Wertenbaker (Writers’ Guild of Great Britain Best New Play 2015); Laurence Marks and Maurice Gran’s Love Me Do (co-directed with Shona Morris) and Von Ribbentrop’s Watch; Fourteen by Gurpreet Kaur Bhatti; Gary Owen’s Perfect Match (part of WPT’s 2013 ‘Ideal World’ season about the human impact of the digital revolution: the other plays were Override by Stacey Gregg and Virgin by E.V. Crowe), as well as Gary’s We That Are Left, and Mrs Reynolds and the Ruffian; Ronald Harwood’s Equally Divided; Charlotte Keatley’s Our Father, and My Mother Said I Never Should; Alan Ayckbourn’s Time of My Life, and Absent Friends; Shakespeare’s As You Like It; and pantomimes Mother Goose, Robin Hood, Sleeping Beauty (co-directed by Shona Morris ) and Dick Whittington, all by Andrew Pollard.

Brigid is a producer, director, dramaturg and teacher with experience in the subsidised and commercial theatre and television.  From 1998 to 2006 she was Artistic Director of West End company Act Productions, and adviser to BBC4 Plays. From 1993 to 1998 she directed a series of promenade Shakespeares, Shakespeare Unplugged, for RNT Education.

From 1985 to 1987 she was Associate Director at Contact Theatre, Manchester.  She directed a range of classic and contemporary plays, including Mustapha Matura’s Playboy of the West Indies, with a cast including Diane Louise Jordan, Eddie Nestor and Sharon D Clarke, the first play to be produced outside London with an all Black cast.  She championed and directed the premiere of Charlotte Keatley’s groundbreaking play My Mother Said I Never Should: having been rejected by the RSC, NT, Royal Court, and all the major theatres, it became a worldwide success and a GCSE set text.  For decades this play, with its cast of four women, made Charlotte the most produced female playwright around the world after Agatha Christie. 

From 1989 to 1994 Brigid returned to Contact as Artistic Director, directing Joseph Mydell in Brecht’s Galileo and commissioning the first British plays responding to the rave scene (Excess/XS), and the implications of virtual reality (Strange Attractors, a multimedia promenade production, by Manchester poet Kevin Fegan, with digital technologies provided by Granada TV). She trained at the RSC, and as a studio director at Granada TV.

Executive Director

Jamie Arden

Communications Director

Dan Baxter

Finance Director

Andrew Phillips


Tel: 01923 235455

General Manager
Samantha Ford

Ellen Waghorn

Assistant Producer
Katy McLeod

Buildings Facilities Manager
Sergio Steagall

Maintenance Technician
Brian Penston

Finance Administrator
Katrina Tepper

Take Part

Tel: 01923 810307

Associate Director
James Williams



Tel: 01923 235455

Technical Manager
Richmond Rudd

Head of Electrics
Francis Johnstone

Electrics Technician
Kieran Duke

Head of Stage
Chris Taylor

Stage Technician
Harry Fearnley-Brown


Company Stage Manager (seasonal)
Maddie Baylis

Wardrobe Supervisor (seasonal)
Mark Jones

Head of Construction
Tip Pargeter

Construction Assistant
Richard Robb


Tel: 01923 810309

Marketing Officer
Vanessa White

Sales and Events Manager
Julia Yelland 

Sales & Events Officer
Peter Shelton 

Front of House & Bars Manager
Allen Gray 

Front of House & Bars Assistant Manager
Pedro Gardiner

Cleaning Supervisor 
Sharon Hunt 

Cleaning Staff 
Ankomah Koduah
  Svetlana Kristoforova

Customer service team

AD Dada
Jhanky Baguandas
Ella Brightley
Conor Brownlee
William Burchnall
Tai Dada
Olivia Davies
Hannah Draper
James Dyer
Stephen Emery
Hope Feasey
Kyran Feasey
Gemma Fisher
Laura Fisher
Alycia Gaunt
Reuben Gluck
Kirsty Henley Washford
Ben Henley-Washford
Duncan Henley-Washford
Mia Janes

Jeanette Johnson
Brandon Jones
Kirsten Jones
Saskia Jurascheck
Sarah Kenny
Aimee Kent
Victoria King Cline
Dominic Levy

Yvonne Marfleet
Collette Mead
Hannah Miller
Jessica Moss
Teresa Murray
Isabel Neilsen
Madeline O’Keeffe
Harriet O’Neill
Alice O’Shaughnessy
Emily Pardoe
Mark Pocock
Rita Reidy
Evette Robinson
Annie Robson
Valerie Sadoh
Tom Scarborough
Sam Selby Weatherley
Janet Semus
Daniel Shapiro
Ellie Shrimpton Ring
Stephen Smith
Martin Spellman
Maya Spencer Jacobs
Doreen Tora
Chloe Ware
Jordan Ware
Imara Williams Simpson
Tameera Williams Simpson
Joseph Winer

Honorary Archivist
Ian Scleater

 Channel 4 Playwright

Asif Khan
This theatre has the support of the Channel 4 Playwright's Scheme sponsored by Channel 4 Television